QR Vandalism?

2013-03-01-10.42

So I am walking into work this morning an the university erected a plaque acknowledging the historic spot of the School of Tropical and Preventive Medicine and an annex building called the “block house.”  The block house was finally torn down late last year while the south laboratory has been gone for much longer.  But when I see this new plaque I reflect on how static and non-visual this type of presentation presents.  I know our library’s archive has images of these buildings in their heyday.  Hmmm.

Well,  I couldn’t find any pictures of the “block building” but I definitely found images of the School of Tropical and Preventive Medicine.  I saved the search, created a QR code and taped it to the plaque.  Now someone can use their smartphone to search our library archives and bring up images from the past.  I wish the university had thought of this beforehand so that the QR could be engraved in the plaque.  As it is now, I just taped the QR code so that it can be removed if someone take offense.  Laminating the code will be my next step if it is seen as a valuable addition.

9 thoughts on “QR Vandalism?

  1. Gerald,

    Wow! I think that’s a direct, creative application of what we’re learning in class what with taking the initiative to a create a QR code taped to the copper plaque which brings up images from the library archives of the School of Tropical and Preventative Medicine as acknowledged on this memorial plaque! Virtual snaps to you—Laurie

    • It’s been on my mind to do something like this that is to add QR codes to items that could have additional information available to them. There are other locations on my campus where old buildings once stood that could be explained in pictures from our archive.

      Another idea I had, after returning from a conference, was to use the “Layer” application to create augmented reality points around the campus. The “walking tour” would be transformed into an AR enhanced tour. I just need to the time to do this. But for now, I think I might tag a few more QR codes.

  2. I truly hope this is the latest craze. It’s much better than yarn-bombing and flash mobs! Imagine how fun geo-cashing would be if a QR code was waiting in the hiding place. I hope they make scavenger hunts this way!!
    Your idea of walking tours is fantastic. Imagine Boston’s or Paris’s walking with QR codes with multiple language options.

    • I removed it today and replaced it with a laminated version. 🙂 I also used Google’s URL shorter to reduce the URL length and to track the usage.

      BTW- Google’s URL shorter is cool. All you have to do to create a QR code is add ‘.qr’ to a Google shorten URL.

  3. You can track the usage? I would love hear the results of that. Please keep us in the loop. QR codes may not be perfect, but I think this stage of them will yield a better product soon. It has such potential. The beauty of commercial capitalism will produce QR 2.0 soon!

    • Sure … just use a specific url in the QR code and track that. In my case, I have a domain that I use to make short URLs and the software I use on that domain tracks the usage.

    • Henry has it right, that is one way to track usage. You can track the source address of the known QR code’s URL. Using Google, the Google URL shortener automatically tracks clicks of the shortened URL. So it is a simple way to track usage.

Leave a Reply

