Introduction

374052_10150347781561295_705761294_8375925_326502986_nHello everyone, my name is Gerald Rezes.  Let’s see, I am one of those less than 25% minority library students who happen to be male. 🙂 I come to librarianship with a live long professional interest in computers and information technology.  I would not have guessed that would be studying to be a librarian.  But that changed after spending the last sixteen years working at an academic library.

I work for Loma Linda University, University Libraries.  I started out as a computer technician working for the library.  After my supervisor left, I was assumed the position of Library Systems Administrator.  I have participated in the rapid change that technology has brought to libraries.  For example, the Integrated Library System (ILS) has changed from being the online card catalog to a discovery platform that not only searches our cataloged monographs but our databases and digital library.   Although librarians dislike the term, the biggest push in libraries today I think is that they are becoming more “Googlish” meaning a one-stop-place to find information.  Librarians will argue that at least the results found through the library’s search are more trustworthy.

Back to me.  I live in southern California specifically in Redlands.  I am currently married with a son in fourth grade.  I try to find time for astronomy and video game playing.  Reading for school is usually all the time I have for reading but I enjoy listening to audio books while commuting.   I am working on listening to the classics like “The Odyssey”, “Dracula” and “Moby Dick” because they are public domain and volunteer sites like Librivox present great downloadable versions.

I am just beginning with my SLIS program.  I am taking my third and fourth classes this semester.  I hope to learn throughout this course the finer specifics of using social communications for librarianship.  I am a participating contributor to my library’s Facebook page, blog and website.  We are still in our infancy when it comes to promoting ourselves in this media.  I think we can do better and hopefully this course will give me some pointers to bring back to my work.

Good luck everyone, I look forward to working with all of you.

2 thoughts on “Introduction

Leave a Reply

