Finished Ulysses

I finished listening to James Joyce’s Ulysses.  I am not a book critic but I can give you my impressions of the book.  It is long and rambling at times brilliant and other times strange 51nQaLjA0zL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_and difficult to follow.  I can see why this novel is considered a modern classic with the way Joyce uses different writing styles throughout the book to relate a 24-hour narrative.  There are several passages that I liked but it is difficult to concisely say what those passages are.  The critics, especially of the time, objected to the sexual content in the Nausicaä episode but I found the last episode, Penelope, detailing Molly Bloom’s thoughts to me more obscene.  I also have a hard time thinking that James Joyce knows what is going on inside a woman’s head enough to give a detailed description whereas it is more like a man’s fantasy of what women are thinking.  At least that is my two cents.

The voice acting of this audio book is excellent.  I was easily transported to the novel’s time period and the narration allowed me to engaged with the character uniquely.  The Librivox version of this book was too distracting given that different people voiced different episodes.

Next on the reading list, “At the Mountains of Madness” by H.P. Lovecraft.  I never read Lovecraft before although he has inspired countless movies and stories of our time.

Leave a Reply

